The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration). ASEAN members include Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Papua New Guinea and East Timor are accorded Observer status.

In 2016 the population of ASEAN member countries amounted to approximately 640 million, combined GDP – USD2,5 trillion.

Russia was subsequently elevated to a full Dialogue Partner of ASEAN at the 29th Ministerial Meeting (AMM) in July 1996 in Jakarta. 

The first ASEAN-Russia Summit was held in Kuala Lumpur on December 13, 2005. In 2007 the ASEAN-Russia Dialogue Partnership Financial Fund (DPFF) was established with initial contribution of USD500.000 to support joint cooperation projects.

The ASEAN business dialogue is evolving. The cooperation agreement between the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Russia and Confederation of Asia-Pacific Chambers of Commerce and Industry (CACCI) was signed in 1998 in Kuala Lumpur. Russia – ASEAN Business Council is operating. Council`s Chairman is Ivan Polyakov, CEO of the Interstate Corporation for Development, Executive Director – Daniyar Akaziev, PA to CEO of the Interstate Corporation for Development .

The importance of economic cooperation with ASEAN countries is proved by the existence of national business councils. The councils aim to create favorable conditions for business in the region. The councils` capacities and areas of work depend on economic situation in each country and business community interests in Asia-Pacific markets.

US-ASEAN Business Council was established in 1984 and has representative offices in Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

ASEAN New Zealand Combined Business Council (ANZCBC) was created in 1998 as incorporated society funded solely by members subscriptions and revenue from member activities. Federation of Japanese Chamber of Commerce and Industry in ASEAN (FJCCIA) is a mechanism for dialogue between Japanese and ASEAN business.

At the beginning of the XXI century Canada-ASEAN Business CouncilChina-ASEAN Business Association and UK-ASEAN Business Council were established.

The China-ASEAN Business Council consists of China Council for the Promotion of International Trade (CCPIT), ASEAN Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI), the national business leaders, well-known enterprisers and experts from ASEAN member countries.

The UK-ASEAN Business Council (UKABC) aims to facilitate a step change in the level of trade between the UK and Southeast Asia, and thus contribute towards the UK Trade & Investment (UKTI)’s ambition to support 50,000 SMEs and increase UK exports to £1trn by 2020.

At the Conference of Russian ambassadors and permanent representatives Russian President Vladimir Putin highlighted that Russia intends to further develop relations with Asia-Pacific countries, including the ASEAN states.  Secretary-General of ASEAN Le Luong Minh and Russian Minister of Foreign Affairs Sergey Lavrov  expressed mutual interest to extend the political contacts and deepen economic, political and cultural ties between Russia and ASEAN.